mtg do vehicles have summoning sickness

mtg do vehicles have summoning sickness


Table of Contents

mtg do vehicles have summoning sickness

Magic: The Gathering's vehicles are unique cards that offer a compelling blend of creature and artifact characteristics. However, their interaction with the game's rules, especially summoning sickness, can be a source of confusion for new and experienced players alike. This comprehensive guide will definitively answer the question: Do Vehicles have summoning sickness? And we'll delve into the nuances of how they function in the game.

What is Summoning Sickness in MTG?

Before addressing Vehicles specifically, let's clarify summoning sickness. In MTG, summoning sickness prevents a newly summoned creature from attacking during the turn it enters the battlefield. This rule applies to most creatures entering play, preventing immediate aggression and adding a strategic layer to gameplay. It's a core mechanic designed to balance the game and stop overwhelming early-game attacks.

Do Vehicles Suffer From Summoning Sickness?

The short answer is: No, Vehicles themselves do not have summoning sickness. Vehicles are artifacts, not creatures. While they allow you to crew them and gain the benefits of a creature, the vehicle itself isn't subject to the rules governing creature attacks.

How Does Crewing a Vehicle Work?

This is where things get interesting. When you crew a Vehicle, you're essentially transforming it into a creature with a power and toughness defined by the vehicle's statistics. However, the creature created by crewing a Vehicle does have summoning sickness. This means that the creature you get when crewing the Vehicle cannot attack the turn it enters the battlefield.

Think of it this way: the Vehicle is the chassis; the crew are the engine. The chassis (Vehicle) doesn't suffer from summoning sickness, but the powered-up creature (the crewed Vehicle) does.

Can I attack with a crewed Vehicle the turn I crew it?

No. Even though the Vehicle itself doesn't have summoning sickness, the creature that results from crewing it does. Therefore, you cannot attack with the crewed Vehicle on the turn you crew it.

What if I crew a Vehicle with a creature that already attacked?

This is perfectly legal. The summoning sickness only applies to the creature token created by the crewing action, not to the creatures you use to crew it. Those creatures are unaffected and can still attack as normal (provided they meet all other conditions, of course).

Are there any exceptions to this rule?

No, there are no official exceptions to the summoning sickness rule as it applies to crewed Vehicles. This rule remains consistent across all sets and formats.

Conclusion: Understanding Vehicles and Summoning Sickness

Understanding how Vehicles interact with summoning sickness is crucial for effective gameplay. While the Vehicle itself is immune, the resultant creature token suffers from this restriction. This mechanic adds a layer of tactical depth, requiring players to carefully consider their crewing strategy and the timing of their attacks. Remember to always account for summoning sickness when planning your turns involving Vehicles to avoid costly mistakes.